My Tongue Does This to Me

Hedwig Houben and Jean-Charles de Quillacq
19/01/2018 – 24/03/2018

Opening on Friday 19 January 2018, from 6 – 9 pm

 

Up until then my tongue just lay there in my mouth in a perfectly normal way. Then it got talked about and took on a certain weight and volume in my mouth. It became something special, partly visible and partly invisible, not completely a part of me and not completely belonging to me. “My tongue does this to me”: it’s also a forked tongue that makes itself heard before it makes itself understood, an independent creature gifted with speech, a transmitting instrument with its own technique. That tongue’s no longer as familiar to the mouth that is both its and mine.

 

“My tongue does this to me” is also the tongue that speaks of artworks. This is a tongue that is unlearning the language of a mediation focused on information. It develops a more obscure form of mediation intended to take literally Ludwig Wittgenstein’s maxim that “what can be said at all can be said clearly, and what we cannot talk about we must pass over in silence.”[1]  It is not so much a matter of walling the work in with a mystical silence as of recognising the limits of linguistic clarity and finding ways of connecting with artworks in less comfortable, less familiar forms, and envisaging mediation as a sounding board. Hedwig Houben has designed instruments for this.

In the wake of the tongue this feeling of strangeness has made its way to the house that is home to the art centre: this house of dust, of stone, of… . At once staunch and hospitable, vulnerable and mutable, public and already inhabited, this house is neither completely mine nor completely yours. So come along and try out the tongue that abrades.

[1] Ludwig Wittgenstein, Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus, (1921), trans. D.F. Pears and B.F. McGuinness (London: Routledge & Kegan Paul, 1961), p. 3

 

around the exhibition

La langue de ma bouche

Hedwig Houben and Jean-Charles de Quillacq
19/01/2018 – 24/03/2018

Jusque-là, ma langue reposait dans ma bouche comme si de rien n’était. Puis on a parlé d’elle et elle a pris un certain poids, occupé un certain volume dans ma bouche. Elle est devenue une chose à part, en partie visible et en partie invisible, pas tout à fait en moi ni tout à fait à moi. “La langue de ma bouche”, c’est aussi une langue qui fourche, qui se fait entendre avant de se faire comprendre, une créature indépendante douée de parole, un instrument émetteur avec sa propre technique. Cette langue-là n’est plus si familière à cette bouche qui est la sienne et qui est la mienne.

 

“La langue de ma bouche”, c’est aussi celle qui parle des œuvres. C’est une langue qui désapprend le langage d’une médiation tournée vers l’information. Elle développe une forme de médiation plus obscure qui prendrait au mot la maxime de Ludwig Wittgenstein selon laquelle « tout ce qui peut être dit peut être dit clairement, et sur ce dont on ne peut parler, on doit le taire. » [1] Il ne s’agit pas tant d’entretenir autour de l’œuvre un silence mystique que de reconnaître les limites du langage clair et de trouver des manières de se relier aux œuvres sous des formes plus embarrassées, moins familières, en envisageant la médiation comme une caisse de résonance. Hedwig Houben a conçu des instruments pour cela.

 

Après la langue, ce sentiment d’étrangeté a gagné la maison – de pierre, de poussière, de… – qui abrite le centre d’art. À la fois solide et hospitalière, vulnérable et transformable, publique et déjà habitée, cette maison n’est pas tout à fait la mienne ni tout à fait la vôtre. Alors venez faire l’expérience de la langue qui râpe.

 

[1] Ludwig Wittgenstein, Tractatus logico-philosophicus, (1921), trad. Gilles Gaston Granger, Gallimard, 1993, p. 31

Productions

Voir les productions des autres expositions

Autour de l’exposition