Artists in Residence

Every year La Galerie centre for contemporary art in Noisy-le-Sec welcomes an artist in residence for seven months, providing him or her with intellectual, logistical and financial support. The residency is intended aid creation of a body of work based on an annual theme and relating to the art centre’s territory. The artist is invited to suggest different approaches to the exhibiting of the works produced during the residency and to take part in public events organised at La Galerie.

Residency terms and conditions
Artist’s fee: 6000 €
Production costs: 7000 €

The artist’s accommodation is a furnished, rent-free 65-square metre studio/apartment in Noisy-le-Sec, close to the art centre. Noisy-le-Sec is 10 minutes from Paris on the RER E line. Electricity, gas, water and public transport costs are met by La Galerie.

The selection process
Eligibility:
The residency is open to any artist living in France who is part of a professional network and whose main activity is art. There is no age limit, but the candidate must be an art school graduate.

Applications
Applications must be sent by email only to lagaleriecac@gmail.com
Application closed for 2016-2017 season.
The selection process is in two stages
1. Reception of applications
Applications must comprise 2 attachments only, both in PDF format. Total maximum file size: 4 Mo. Note that no Word files will be accepted.
– 1 biography (CV) in PDF, including full name, address and contact details, date of birth and current place of residence.
– 1 illustrated file in PDF representative of the artist’s work. Artists using moving images or sound should include the relevant Internet links.
5 candidates will be shortlisted by a committee comprising the director and the coordinator of residencies at La Galerie, together with Vanessa Desclaux, guest exhibition curator for La Galerie’s 2016–2017 season.

2. Shortlisted candidates and jury
The five shortlisted artists will be required to provide a statement of intent for their proposed residency projects.
– Each artist’s approach or specific project must correspond to La Galerie’s line of research for the 2016–2017 season (which will be specified at this stage of the proceedings).
– Regarding his or her creative process and its outreach, each artist must take account of La Galerie’s territory, stakeholders, and cultural and academic functioning in terms of the municipality, the département and the Region.

Shortlisted candidates will be informed by email in early June and invited to present their projects to a jury made up of the shortlist selection committee and representatives of La Galerie’s partners on about 22 June 2016. Non-shortlisted candidates will be informed by email after the jury hearing.

 

In progress

Liv Schulman is in residence at La Galerie from September 2016 to April 2017.
Download the call for applications

Artists in residence archives

Artistes en résidence

La Galerie, centre d’art contemporain de Noisy-le-Sec accueille chaque année un.e artiste en résidence pour une durée de sept mois. Il.Elle est accompagné.e par La Galerie d’un soutien intellectuel, logistique et financier. Cette résidence vise à accompagner la production d’un ensemble d’œuvres et se développe autour d’un axe de recherche annuel tout en s’inscrivant sur le territoire du centre d’art. L’artiste en résidence est invité.e à proposer divers modes d’exposition des œuvres produites au cours de sa résidence et à réaliser ponctuellement des interventions auprès des publics de La Galerie.

Conditions de la résidence
Honoraires : 6000 €
Production : 7000 €

L’artiste réside dans un atelier-logement meublé de 65 m2 mis à disposition gracieusement et situé en centre-ville de Noisy-le-Sec (RER E à 10 minutes de Paris) à proximité du centre d’art. Les frais d’électricité, de gaz et d’eau ainsi que les transports en commun sont pris en charge par La Galerie.

Sélection pour la résidence d’artiste
Admissibilité :
Résidence ouverte à un.e artiste inscrit.e dans un réseau professionnel en France et dont le travail artistique est l’activité principale, vivant en France, sans limite d’âge mais ayant terminé ses études.

Dossiers de candidature :
Les candidatures sont à adresser uniquement par e-mail à l’adresse : lagaleriecac@gmail.com
Session close pour la saison 2016-2017. La sélection se déroule en deux temps
1) Réception des candidatures :
Les candidatures devront comporter seulement 2 pièces jointes en format PDF.(Poids maximum de l’ensemble : 4 Mo. Attention, aucun document word ne sera accepté).
– 1 biographie (CV) en PDF avec les coordonnées complètes de l’artiste, date de naissance, lieu de vie actuel.
– 1 dossier illustré représentatif du travail général de lʼartiste en PDF.
Pour les artistes utilisant l’image en mouvement ou le son : inclure des liens internet.
5 candidats seront sélectionnés par un comité constitué de la directrice et de la coordinatrice des résidences de La Galerie, ainsi que de Vanessa Desclaux, commissaire d’exposition en résidence associée à la saison 2016-2017 de La Galerie.

2) Présélection et jury :
Les 5 artistes sélectionné.es pour le jury devront fournir une note d’intention du projet proposé pour la résidence :
– La démarche ou le projet spécifique des artistes devra s’inscrire dans l’axe de recherche de la saison 2016–2017 de La Galerie (qui sera précisé à ce stade de la sélection).
– L’artiste prendra également en considération, dans son processus de création et dans sa diffusion, le territoire, ses acteurs, ses structures culturelles et scientifiques, à l’échelle de la ville, du département et de la région.

Les candidat.es présélectionné.es seront prévenu.es par email au début du mois de juin et invité.es à présenter leur projet devant un jury constitué du jury de présélection et des représentants des partenaires de La Galerie vers le 22 juin 2016. Les candidats non retenus seront prévenus par email après la date du jury.

En cours

L’artiste en résidence de septembre 2016 à avril 2017 est Liv Schulman.

Télécharger l’appel à candidatures

Archives artistes en résidence