Bady Dalloul

Scrapbook, 2015

Found notebook, collages, artist’s drawings and writing

 

Festival du film franco-arabe de Noisy-le-Sec

Projection of a Bady Dalloul’s film

15 Nov. 2019, 7:30pm

Scrapbook, 2015
Duration: 48 min

 

Projection followed by a discussion with the artist 

 

As part of the 8th edition of the Festival du Film Franco-Arabe de Noisy-le-Sec, from 8 to 19 November, 2019

 

The video Scrapbook presents the images of a book accompanied by a voice-over in different languages. It tells the story of Sadako, a young Japanese girl, born in 1943 in Hiroshima, who, after being irradiated by the atomic bomb, decides to make one thousand origamis to recover her health. She dies before her story is finished.

Bady Dalloul discovered it much later, while visiting a museum in Japan. Moved by the girl’s story, and drawing parallels with his own, the artist decided to take up the challenge of continuing Sadako’s work.

 

Scrapbook is the result of the interlacing of his story with that of Sadako, integrating collective history (the occupation and colonisation of Palestine, the bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, the Syrian diaspora). With the multiplicity of languages used in the piece, as well as the various narrative layers, the story seems manifold. 

Bady Dalloul

Bady Dalloul (born in 1986), lives and works in Paris.

 

Bady Dalloul is a French-Syrian artist who graduated with honours from the École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris in 2015. His work, infused with political, sociological and historical dimensions, confronts the imaginary and the real, forcing them into dialogue, questioning the logic of writing history. The creation of fictional lands, the artist’s obsession since he was a teenager, is at the heart of his current work.

Bady Dalloul

Scrapbook, 2015

Carnet trouvé, collages, dessins et écritures de l’artiste

 

Festival du film franco-arabe de Noisy-le-Sec

Bady Dalloul

15 nov. 2019, 19h30

Scrapbook, 2015
Durée : 48 min

 

Projection suivie d’une rencontre avec l’artiste

 

Dans le cadre de la 8e édition du Festival du film franco-arabe de Noisy-le-Sec, du 8 au 19 novembre 2019

 

Scrapbook est une vidéo qui présente les images d’un livre, accompagnées d’une voix off en différentes langues. Ce livre raconte l’histoire de Sadako, une jeune fille japonaise née en 1943 à Hiroshima qui, après avoir été irradiée par la bombe atomique, décide de se lancer dans la confection de 1000 origamis pour retrouver la santé. Elle décède avant d’avoir achevé son récit.

Bady Dalloul le découvre bien plus tard, en visite dans un musée au Japon. Ému par l’histoire de la jeune fille et effectuant des parallèles avec sa propre histoire, l’artiste se lance le défi de poursuivre l’œuvre de Sadako.

 

Scrapbook est le résultat d’un entrelacs entre son histoire et celle de Sadako, en intégrant l’histoire collective (l’occupation et la colonisation de la Palestine, le bombardement d’Hiroshima et Nagasaki, la diaspora syrienne). La multiplicité des langues employées dans l’ouvrage ainsi que les différentes strates narratives donnent l’impression que le récit est multiple.

BADY DALLOUL

Bady Dalloul (né en 1986), vit et travaille à Paris.

 

Bady Dalloul est un artiste franco-syrien diplômé de l’École Nationale Supérieure des Beaux-Arts de Paris en 2015 avec les félicitations du jury. Son travail, empreint d’une dimension politique, sociologique et historique, confronte et fait dialoguer l’imaginaire et le réel, remettant en cause la logique de l’écriture de l’Histoire. La création des pays fictifs, l’obsession de l’artiste depuis son adolescence, est au cœur de son travail actuel.