Exhibition views of al mahr, 2022

Photos © Aurélien Mole

© Adagp, Paris, 2022

المهر al mahr

Sabrina Belouaar’s exhibition

14 May — 23 Jul. 2022

  • Curating:Marc Bembekoff
  • Opening:13 May 2022

Embracing sculpture, photography, video and installation, the artistic vocabulary that Sabrina Belouaar (born in 1986, lives and works in Paris) has developed investigates, with sensitivity, the way our social and cultural identities are constructed, how they echo and collide with each other in a continuous back and forth – from the Maghreb to Western Europe, from the centre to the periphery. The artist does not hesitate to question our preconceptions by revealing the unspoken power dynamics at play in both political and familial spheres.

 

For this exhibition, “al mahr”, which in Arabic means “dowry”, Sabrina Belouaar presents a project in La Galerie’s space that she began in 2017, studies of women who clandestinely resell jewellery on the streets of Algiers. Called the delalates, these women have often found themselves in a precarious situation (widowed, rejected, divorced, etc.), to the point of being forced to sell jewellery on the pavement, often from their dowry, given to young Algerian women when they marry.

The photographs in the series The Gold Sellers show close-ups of these women’s hands, covered in rings. Without street-side display cases, it is the actual body of the delalates that serves as showcases for the jewellery they sell illegally. It is perhaps this direct connection to the body that explains why they have been held in low regard and constantly denigrated in Algerian society – a negative perception Sabrina Belouaar has been witness to since her childhood. 

 

Starting from an idiosyncratic and specific situation, Sabrina Belouaar weaves links that enable her to question our relationship to gold and the frantic race to riches that drives our societies. In her latest film, which uses editing to heighten the rhythm to a crescendo, she draws the viewer into a visual meandering where images from diverse sources mix together: delalates, archives, family photos, stories…

The reference to the tradition of the dowry appears in the images that belong to the delalates, but also metaphorically in the evocation of the sandouk tadamoun. When Algeria was liberated from French domination in the summer of 1962, the government called on the population to make a collective effort to endow the newly independent Algeria with their own money and goods – as after French colonisation, this young nation was wedding its own inhabitants, the beginning of a new relationship, filled with promise.

 

This exhibition is supported by the Arab Fund for Arts and Culture.

Around the exhibition

Saturday 28 May 2022, 4:30pm

Panel discussion around the delalates and informal markets in Algiers

Discussion with Sabrina Belouaar, Nabil Djedouani (archivist), Lynn SK (artist) and Farès Yessad (artist), along with a film and video programme (Henné / La Bête, un conte moderne [2018-2021] by Yasmina Benabderrahmane, An-Nissa [2017] by Ymane Fakhir and Barbès – from the series Les Intruses [2019] by Randa Maroufi)

Creative Saturdays (6-12 years)

Each Saturday, 2:30pm — 4pm (except for school holidays) 

Free workshops, registration required

 

Booking for the next workshop

 

With artist Charlotte El Moussaed, participants explore a number of visual techniques connected to the exhibition.

 

More information on the Creative Saturdays

More information

Vues de l’exposition « al mahr », 2022

Photos © Aurélien Mole

© Adagp, Paris, 2022

المهر al mahr

Exposition de Sabrina Belouaar

14 mai — 23 juil. 2022

  • Commissariat:Marc Bembekoff
  • Vernissage:13 mai 2022

En embrassant aussi bien la sculpture, la photographie, que la vidéo et l’installation, le lexique artistique développé par Sabrina Belouaar (née en 1986, vit et travaille à Paris) questionne avec sensibilité la façon dont nos identités sociales et culturelles se construisent, se répondent et s’entrechoquent dans un aller-retour continu – du Maghreb vers l’Europe occidentale, du centre vers la périphérie. L’artiste n’hésite pas à remettre en question nos présupposés en révélant des rapports de force tacites dans les sphères tant politiques que familiales.

 

Pour cette exposition intitulée « al mahr » – que l’on peut traduire de l’arabe par « la dot » –, Sabrina Belouaar déploie dans l’espace de La Galerie un projet initié en 2017, pour lequel elle développe une recherche sur des femmes qui revendent clandestinement des bijoux dans les rues d’Alger. Appelées les delalates, ces femmes se sont un jour retrouvées dans une situation précaire (veuves, répudiées, divorcées, etc.) au point d’être obligées de vendre, à même le trottoir, des bijoux, souvent issus de leur propre dot, celle initialement remise aux jeunes femmes algériennes pour leur mariage.

Les photographies de la série The Gold Sellers nous montrent les mains de ces femmes recouvertes de bagues, cadrées en gros plan. À défaut de comptoirs de vente avec pignon sur rue, ce sont les corps mêmes des delalates qui servent de faire-valoir aux bijoux qu’elles vendent illégalement. C’est peut-être ce rapport direct au corps qui explique le fait qu’elles aient toujours été peu considérées et constamment dénigrées par la société algéroise – vision négative dont Sabrina Belouaar a pu être témoin dès son enfance.

 

À partir d’une situation particulière et contextuelle, Sabrina Belouaar tisse ainsi des liens qui lui permettent de questionner plus globalement notre rapport à l’or et cette course effrénée vers la richesse qui anime tant nos sociétés. Dans son dernier film, à travers un montage dont le rythme va crescendo, elle emmène le·a spectateur·rice dans des méandres visuels où s’entremêlent une iconographie aux sources diverses : images de delalates, archives, photos de famille, extraits de films, témoignages…

La référence à la tradition de la dot apparaît dans les images propres aux delalates, mais aussi métaphoriquement dans l’évocation du sandouk tadamoun. Lors de la libération de l’Algérie du joug français à l’été 1962, le gouvernement sollicite la population à un effort collectif pour doter l’Algérie, nouvellement indépendante, de l’argent et des biens du peuple – comme si finalement, cette toute jeune nation se mariait avec ses habitant·e·s et entamait une nouvelle relation pleine de promesses après cette période de colonisation française.

 

Cette exposition bénéficie du soutien de l’Arab Fund for Arts and Culture.

Programme culturel

Samedi 28 mai 2022, 16h30

Table ronde autour des delalates et des marchés informels à Alger

Discussion avec Sabrina Belouaar, Nabil Djedouani (archiviste), Lynn SK (artiste) et Farès Yessad (artiste), accompagnée par un programme de films et de vidéos (Henné / La Bête, un conte moderne [2018-2021] de Yasmina Benabderrahmane, An-Nissa [2017] d’Ymane Fakhir et Barbès – de la série Les Intruses [2019] de Randa Maroufi)

Les samedis créatifs (6 - 12 ans)

Chaque samedi, de 14h30 à 16h (en dehors des vacances scolaires)

Ateliers gratuits, inscription obligatoire

 

Inscription au prochain atelier

 

L’artiste intervenante Charlotte El Moussaed propose d’explorer plusieurs techniques plastiques en lien avec l’exposition.

 

En savoir + sur les Samedis créatifs

Aller + loin